believe

be-liev-a-rex-ic by J.J.Johnson

Jennifer has to force her family to realize that she needs treatment for her eating disorder. But her experience in an eating disorder treatment unit isn’t quite what she expected. In 1988, when she was fifteen, JJ Johnson was hospitalized for treatment of bulimarexia, a combination of bulimia and anorexia. During her ten-week stay, JJ had to eat everything on her tray, and took classes like Assertiveness Training, Depression Management, and Body Image Workshop. She gained weight, but her path toward health was a constant struggle. In her heart, JJ knew she knew that she would be a happy, healthy adult one day. But how? Instead of a clear path, there was a black abyss. She needed a guide, a mentor, someone who knew her inside and out. So, one morning, just before weigh-in, JJ closed her eyes and made a deal with herself: I promise myself that when I’m grown up, and happy, I will come back here, to these months. Healthy me will guide bulimarexic me through this. This book is that promise, kept.

Review

“A powerful story of healing and self-acceptance.” —-Kirkus Reviews

Compelling and authentic, this story is impossible to put down… Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Wintergirls (2009), Believarexic is a raw, memorable reading experience. —-Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s